Blue Oyster Cult – Vinyl LP – Fire of Unknown Origin (Translucent Blue Vinyl)


  1. Fire of Unknown Origin
  2. Burnin’ for You
  3. Veteran of the Psychic Wars
  4. Sole Survivor
  5. Heavy Metal
  6. The Black and Silver
  7. Vengeance (The Pact)
  8. After Dark
  9. Joan Crawford
  10. Don’t Turn Your Back

By hitting the “Buy Product” button below, you will be directed to Collectors’ Choice Music, our official e-commerce partner.



Limited translucent blue vinyl LP pressing. Includes Culture Factory obi strip. ‘Fire of Unknown Origin’ is the eighth album by hard rockers Blue Öyster Cult, originally released in 1981. It was produced by Martin Birch. The album, which included the Top 40 hit “Burnin’ for You” (#1 on Billboard’s Album Rock Tracks chart) represented a resurgence of the group’s commercial standing after two albums with disappointing sales. Fire of Unknown Origin would be the final studio LP featuring the band’s original lineup. The album continues BÖC’s tendency to write quirky songs, from the title track (featuring lyrics by Patti Smith) to “Joan Crawford”. Many of the songs were intended for the soundtrack of the animated film Heavy Metal. However, only the song “Veteran of the Psychic Wars”, co-written by science fiction author Michael Moorcock, ended up in the film’s final version and soundtrack.


Additional information

Subscribe to our Newsletter