Original price was: $19.98.Current price is: $17.83.

Watsonian Institute – Vinyl LP – Master Funk (180-Gram Translucent Red Vinyl)


1. The Institute
2. Master Funk
3. The Funk If I Know
4. Lady Voo Doo
5. De John’s Delight
6. Coming Around
7. Virginia’s Pretty Funky

By hitting the “Buy Product” button below, you will be directed to Collector’s Choice Music, our official e-commerce partner.


In 1978 Johnny “Guitar” Watson’s backup band decided to record a project as the Watsonian Institute. Master Funk is the only LP that was releases under that name, and for all intents and purposes, this is very much a Johnny “Guitar” Watson album.

The main difference between this record and the hit albums that Watson has been recording under his own name in the 70’s is the fact that this release has a strongest JAZZ influence.

While “Ain’t That a Bitch” or “A Real Mother For Ya” are FUNK/SOUL albums, Master Funk is an album in which FUNK, SOUL and SOUL-JAZZ LIVE!

Additional information

Subscribe to our Newsletter